Solutions to Nikoli Hurdles 2 – Part 4/5

fivecellspuz

Puzzle 6: Five Cells
From the inclusion of Five Cells, I learnt that the world needs more of them. I have been solving a lot of Five Cells in Nikoli magazines so I took it for granted that it was a well-known type. Imagine my surprise when I was showered with praise for this puzzle!

Adam Dewberry: Particularly enjoyed number 6  🙂

Rakesh Rai: I liked the sixth puzzle (five cells) the most, perhaps because it was new for me.

John Reid: Five Cells was also very entertaining for me as I don’t think I’ve seen that type before.

In a usual Nikoli magazine, Five Cells are scattered with 0’s. Even the hard ones are littered with 0’s. That’s an instant X-pentomino wherever you see a 0. If that’s not easy enough; how about a generous amount of 3s all around the perimeter?
Seriously, Nikoli?

So I came up with one without 0s and a lot less clues around the border. The middle of the puzzle is where all the challenge is at. Although, I don’t think it was that tough given how quickly you can try twisting the pieces in your head and fixing trial and errors.

5cellsanswerPuzzle 7: Kurodoko
This puzzle was written in a hotel way back in March, I remember this because it was written in my grid-squared diary. When I came round to edit the puzzle it broke no less than three times. According to my own test solving, this was the hardest puzzle in Nikoli Hurdles 2. The theme I was trying to work on was that each trio of clues sums up to 10. We have 8+2=10, 7+3=10, 6+4=10 and a scattered 5+5=10.

p7kuropuz

The puzzle revolves around the centre’s 10 diagonally adjacent to the 2. There are two possible configurations but one will only work when you consider the 5s at the bottom. I felt that during a timed competition, guess-and-check beats logic in this particular puzzle.

kuroans

 

Leave a Reply

