Flashback #6 – The Giant Octopus

There is a question whether visual puzzles are puzzles at all. Let alone fun, many people find it more of an eye test. I love visual puzzles. Ask a non-puzzler what his/her first solved puzzle was and it would probably be a word search or a spot the difference.

I’d like to think I’m a good drawer but when my medium is the computer I might as well be using Microsoft Paint. And that’s what I did. I was going to make a reflection spot the differences that commonly crop up in USPC. But I changed my mind when the idea of a co-ordinate pair-finding picture game (also common in USPC) came to mind. Unlike the USPC, this puzzle is one big picture and not a grid of repeating 2-3 small pictures that you can systemically dig out the three pairs.

The Giant Octopus: Find three pairs of identical cells in the following picture. Cells may have been rotated but never reflected.

UKPA, July 2011

During post discussion, this puzzle cost Nikola Zivanovic first place. I believed he had around 30 minutes to find the three pairs but could not find the last pair. Ulrich Voigt finished all puzzles with 30 seconds left on the clock to take first place.

2 responses

  1. If I take the three pairs of tiles and put the tiles in each pair in alphabetical order (for example, A2N1 or B2B3) and then put all three pairs in alphabetical order (for example, A2N1B2B3C7D7), I get a string of 12 characters, alternating between capital letters and digits. According to http://www.md5hashgenerator.com/ , the MD5 hash of this twelve-character string is 1a5149b37416922d5ed970a9c32426be. I believe this should constitute proof of my having solved the puzzle without spoiling the answer for everyone else. 🙂

  2. There seems to be no way of reversing the script. So I keyed in the intended answer (following your notation) and voila, “1a5149b37416922d5ed970a9c32426be”.
    You must be right, congratulations! Did it take long?

Leave a Reply

