Flashback #3 – Tents Reconstruction

This will be the last puzzle from my 2010 24HPC set that I’ll put here. I remember looking at the Puzzle Wiki page for ideas and found Tents Reconstruction. A good step to familiarize yourself with a puzzle type is to solve a lot of them or try constructing them. I’ve never seen this variant of Tents before so my only option was to go ahead and write some myself. I started small and came up with a basic 4×4, which became the example puzzle for the instruction booklet. I ramped up a few notches with a 5×5 then 6×6, 8×8 and ending at 10×10. I picked the 6×6 and 10×10 for my set to get the needed level of difficulty. The 6×6 should fall quickly but you’ll need to notice a few constraints to get anything written down with certainty for the 10×10 puzzle.

Example

Tents Reconstruction: Enter some trees and tents into the grid. The outside content of each row or column shows the correct order of appearance for that row or column. Each tent is adjacently attached to a tree (one tent per tree) and no tents can touch each other, not even diagonally. 

Nov 2010, Budapest, Hungary

One response

Leave a Reply

